Skilled Migration Points Changes

June 10, 2011

Recent changes to the Australian General Skilled Migration Points System have been introduced to better target the best and brightest skilled migrants, to enhance Australia’s economic development.

The new system will place greater emphasis on better English levels, more years skilled employment, higher level qualifications and age.

Although points will no longer be afforded for skills on the Skilled Occupation List (SOL), applicants must still nominate a skill to apply.

The pass mark has been lowered from 120 points to 65, but points will now be awarded on a different scale.

  • All applicants must pass the following initial criteria:
    Be under 50 years of age at the time of application
  • Have a competent English language skills
  • Hold a skilled assessment for an occupation on the SOL list
  • Have recently completed the Australian study requirement or have evidence of recent skilled employment.

More points will now be awarded for people in the age range 25-32 replacing the previous emphasis on the younger age groups.

An IELTS score of 7.0 must now be reached to be awarded points for English language, with extra points awarded for an overall band score of over 8.0.

Qualifications and trade certificates will now be awarded points towards your residence application.

Points will be awarded for skilled employment experience either within or outside of Australia. More points will be awarded within Australia and the points are awarded for up to eight years’ experience.

The recent changes to the Points System mean that emigrating to Australia has never been easier. So if you are looking for a change of lifestyle call The Emigration Group today on 01244 32141 (North) or 0207 118 2526 (South).

Latest Emigration News

New Zealand Expression of Interest Results

24th May 2017
Read article

Our Trusted Emigration Partners