Recent Changes to Australia General Skilled Migration

July 26, 2006

Legislation relating to General Skilled Migration were amended on 1st July 2006, which may affect the processing of some applications.

Skilled Designated Area Sponsored Visa (subclass 139) has been replaced by a two-stage visa process. The first stage is a three year provisional visa. Subject to certain criteria, applicants can then apply for the second stage permanent visa.

Child Care Coordinators (ASCO 1295-11) must now apply to Trades Recognition Authority (TRA) as the approved assessing authority. General Skilled Migration applications lodged by Child Care Coordinators after 1st July 2006 must contain a skills assessment issued by TRA. Any application with a VETASSESS assessment will be returned as invalid or refused, depending on the visa class.

Migration Occupations in Demand List (MODL) has had 16 additional occupations added on 28 March 2006.

Latest Emigration News

New Zealand Expression of Interest Results

24th May 2017
Read article

Our Trusted Emigration Partners