Changes to Australian Skilled Migration Introduced

July 13, 2011

Changes to the Australian General Skilled Migration (GSM) Program have been introduced as of July 1, 2011, by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC).

With an increased emphasis on high-level educational qualifications, work experience and English language proficiency, the new system is designed to bring a whole range of highly skilled workers to Australia to meet the constantly changing needs of the economy.

In order to apply for General Skilled Migration applicants must prove that they can now meet both the basic skilled migration requirements as well as passing the points test.
A score of 65 is now required to meet the pass mark on the points test and points are awarded in a whole range of categories including age, work experience, partner skills, Australian study and sponsorship by State or Territory Government.

Immigration Minister Chris Bowen said the changes in the system are the first step in a complete overhaul of the system which will continue next year.

"The reforms set the foundations for a skilled migration program that will be responsive to our economic needs and continue to serve Australia's interests in the medium to long term," he said.

If you are looking at migrating to Australia but aren’t sure if you are eligible under the new points system, then The Emigration Group can help you with your application. Our team of experts can assess your eligibility and advise you accordingly. So what are you waiting for? Give us a call today on 01244 32141 (North) or 0207 118 2526 (South).

Latest Emigration News

New Zealand Expression of Interest Results

24th May 2017
Read article

Our Trusted Emigration Partners