Australia Changes Skilled Migration Visas

July 3, 2012

Australia is making changes to their (points based) Skilled Migration Visas. These changes include the introduction of three new visas and the closure of some current visas for new applications.

From 1st July 2012, three new Skilled Visa subclasses will be introduced.

  • Subclass 189 (Skilled Independent) – Permanent
  • Subclass 190 (Skilled Nomination) – Permanent
  • Subclass 489 (Skilled Regional) – Provisional

In addition, The Australian Government has introduced an online application process called “Skill Select”. From 1st July 2012, instead of applying for a Skilled Migration Visa, intending migrants must first record their interest and details through an online “Expression of Interest” (EOI), which will include personal information and where their skills and other attributes are ranked against a points test and may then be invited to apply for a visa.

To find out more about this new process and to see if you are eligible, please call 01244 321414 or complete our free online assessment

Latest Emigration News

New Zealand Expression of Interest Results

24th May 2017
Read article

Our Trusted Emigration Partners